Sixties Sandals Back in Style?

Chunky sandals like Birkenstocks may be associated with fashion from the sixties so this could be the reason why they are receiving so much criticism for sneaking their way back in style but the joke is on all the haters because sixties fashion is totally in these days. Everyone is in love with vintage clothing and anyone who has a mother who saved their clothes from their teen years are the envy of the fashion world.

Personally, I love chunky sandals. They compliment street style in a classic and – yes, I’m going to say it – vintage way. I have a pair of jeans that I found at the back of my mom’s cupboard. They are high-waisted boyfriend jeans with authentic holes on the knees in the most gorgeous faded blue. These jeans match chunky sandals in collaboration with either a tight, tucked-in, or cropped top. The jeans are loose and therefore don’t accentuate my legs; the sandals don’t tightly fit my feet, they rather distort the shape of my feet to make them look bigger; this is why the shirt I wear needs to match the criteria listed above because I need something in my outfit to show off curves on my body so the tight top can emphasise my upper body, and a tucked-in top and cropped top can draw attention to the waist of the jeans.

Chunky sandals also look great with skinnier pants. However, now the delicate science behind the top changes because now you need to find a baggier/looser top to balance the chunkiness of the sandals. This can be achieved by using a scarf instead though or maybe a baggy jacket.

These sandals are a great excuse to make your outfits more bold instead of always wearing sneakers with your street style clothes (this is more a note to self than anything. I have an unhealthy obsession with wearing my Converse). Experiment with colours and outfits. Always remember to make a fashion statement an be bold.

Jaded Denim Jacket xx

Leave a Reply

