On My Bookshelf

Recently I finished reading Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. My class at school was assigned it as a set work for English. None of us were excited, we have all hated every set work that we’ve been given. We had heard the rumors of this book from the older girls at school; the long boring chapters of nothing but thoughts, the big and complicated words and the uninteresting plot. However, this year I decided to actually read the set work and not just look it up on Spark Notes. 

So I began. I made some hot chocolate, found a snuggly blanket and a comfy couch in my sun room and opened up the book on page one and started reading. My page turns began to get faster and faster and suddenly I was sitting in among swirling patterns of words and dancing letters that I was sure would spill my hot chocolate. I was completely captured by 376 pages of brilliance.

I don’t know what is so addictive about this book. Maybe it’s because the love story is the cutest love story in the world but isn’t a touch cheesy or maybe it’s the way the characters seem so real or maybe it’s because the main character is just so ordinary that we feel it could very easily be true.

The book is about a family of five sisters, Jane, Elizabeth, Mary, Kitty and Lydia Bennet. It is set way back when girls couldn’t inherit their land (like Downton Abbey vibes) so there is a bit of an issue when there are only five daughters. Their dad is quite intelligent but beautifully sarcastic and their mother is the utmost annoying character to ever feature in a book ever. You think your mom embarrasses you? Darling, no one could be worse than Mrs Bennet. Mrs Bennet is also incredibly keen to marry off her daughters to rich guys so when these two rich guys roll into town, she practically loses it. The story revolves around the relationship between the rich guys, the five sisters and a few other characters.

Granted that the language is difficult and the sentences are super long because, I don’t know, maybe Jane Austen made a pact with herself that every single posssibilty she has she will use another comma, I would definitely read this book again. If you dislike reading but you’re keen to know what happens or don’t believe me that Mrs Bennet is the most cringe worthy mother ever then you could watch the series with Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth. That series is the most accurate to the book and it is just incredibly cute. The Kiera Knightly movie version is apparently good but they miss out a few crucial details that really make the story so amazing. 

A Jaded Denim Jacket

Leave a Reply

